CfP:EEGA Annual Conference in Cooperation with the Regional Studies Association (RSA) Central and Eastern Europe Conference 2024

Topic: „Unfinished Statebuilding & Contested Democracies“

Venue: University of Dubrovnik, Croatia
Date: 11 – 13 September 2024
Organiser: RSA in cooperation with EEGA

Call for Proposals

Each year, EEGA organises an annual conference. After a successful joint effort of the Regional Studies Association (RSA) and the Leibniz ScienceCampus in September 2022, taking up the RSA Central and Eastern Europe (CEE) Conference Theme „Bridging Old and New Divides: Global Dynamics & Regional Transformations“, scholars from all over the world presented their research results on global and transregional entanglements in Eastern Europe in several EEGA Special Sessions. This year the cooperation ventures outside the familiar EEGA headquarters in Leipzig and aims to combine both – historically informed research and current political issues in South East Europe, specifically the post-Yugoslav countries and Albania. It is less devoted to strictly historical issues but offers a global and policy oriented approach.

This year’s conference will take place in Dubrovnik, Croatia, where the Leibniz ScienceCampus EEGA contributes panels and round table discussion. Considering the perspectives and agendas of the two cooperating partners, EEGA and RSA, the regional focus and location of the conference, the Leibniz ScienceCampus EEGA proposes overarching topics relevant in the current geopolitical context.

The conference offers innovative academic work from a range of disciplines (history, human geography, political science, sociology, cultural studies, and neighbouring fields of research), while at the same time keeping an eye on the current events.

Please find the Conference Website by RSA here. Potential conference themes and topics can now be submitted. You can find additional information about the Call for Papers by RSA here. Registration to open soon.

The separate Call for Proposals by EEGA as PDFEEGA’s Programme Advisory Board will take a qualified look at the proposals before getting back with feedback.

Submission Deadlines:

  • Special Sessions: 16th April 2024
  • Abstracts : 14th May 2024

Members of EEGA’s Programme Advisory Board:

  • Christian Costamagna (Non-residential fellow, Center for Advanced Studies Southeast Europe (CAS SEE), University of Rijeka, Croatia)
  • Lena Dallywater (Leibniz Institute for Regional Geography, Leipzig)
  • Sebastian Henn (University of Jena)
  • Frank Meyer (TUD Dresden University of Technology)
  • Marek Mikuš (Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology, Halle)
  • Katarina Ristic (Leipzig University)

Author: Aisseco

Share This Post On